01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Your best great-value wines?

So we’ve talked about best under-£7 wines, and best off-the-shelf bargains (where it seems a shop has a small batch of wine they’re flogging for a crazy price) but what about those everyday bargains that stick around for a bit longer, that you almost don’t want to tell people about?

Regardless of price (from proper bargain to fine wine), I love tasting the kind of wine where you double-take and think “HOW much?” and can’t quite believe your luck, knowing you’d gladly pay significantly more for a wine of that quality. And then quickly buy a case before it all disappears…

So for me, my current faves are:

Sooooo complex and rich for this price. Every time I see it’s still in stock I buy another one.

Like a baby white Burgundy (full disclosure, I can’t afford to drink much white Burgundy so I’m not an expert… :flushed:) but even if you don’t agree with that it’s just a ridiculously lovely chardonnay for under a tenner.

Lastly:
https://www.aldi.co.uk/exquisite-cremant-du-jura/p/004711000727200

Aldi’s Cremant de Jura is only £7.99 - less than most Prosecco these days - but if you want a ‘just because’ fizz moment that still delivers great flavour I really love picking up a bottle of this.

Anyway, I clearly only started this topic so I could steal your everyday bargains and fill my wine-rack with them, so over to you…! :smiley:

I really enjoyed the Thymiopoulos (although can’t say it!) its at a slightly higher price point but really does punch well above that in flavour and complexity.

Also the Bulgarian Soli Pinot noir which I don’t think we have stock of at the moment.

Difficult to think of all those amazing value for money wines, but our most recent discoveries are:

Not so much for complexity, but for the sheer pleasure it brings, its fruitiness and drinkability (far too easy to down this one)!