01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

With soma fava beans and a nice chianti

No, I’m not starting a thread about “wine with people” or anything like that.

https://www.thewinesociety.com/product/chianti-classico-gran-selezione-castello-di-brolio-2016

Has anyone had this?

I’ve never tried a Gran Selezione Chianti before. I am debating trying. It boils down to the “I’ve never had it and wine are like Pokemon” vs a) the price - I could continue my exploration of none Classico Chianti DOCs and get 3-4 bottles for that. b) I’m not sure I’ll like the style, I prefer normale to reserva level chianti (and often italian wine in general). I know it’s where the best fruit tends to go, but I usually prefer to less time even in neutral oak styles.

Thoughts?

3 Likes

Using an Italian Food analogy, Chianti Classico to me is like the ‘house pasta’ whereas the Gran Selezione (what’s in a name) is like the same dish with a couple of extra ingredients which has been left on the cooker a little longer, and is a couple of quid more money.
I’m with you on the more standard fare. It’s the best barometer of what makes Italy great.

5 Likes

I’ve had the 2015 Castello and while it was a polished, smooth wine it didn’t have enough spark to justify the price, for me. I didn’t buy any of the 2016 for that reason, which says something as I bought almost everything else from Italy in that vintage!

I think their single vinyard gran selezione wines are much better, eg Colledila.

I think there is still a wary distrust of the Italian D.O system for a lot of people. It didn’t help when they brought out the DOCG system some years back and then proceeded to give it to virtually every D.O (with a few exceptions).

2 Likes