01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Wine made with Godello grape

I had an email yesterday (not from TWS) with an offer for Rafael Palacios, As Sortes which sounds lovely from the accompanying tasting notes. There is some info on this on TWS here…

It’s made from the Godello grape which I confess I have never tasted.

I see there are a couple of examples of Godello on TWS list.

Has anyone had any Godello wine and what were your thoughts?

The As Sortes is, in my opinion, one of the best expressions of Godello out there. Godello is a great varietal - the ‘second’ famous grape of Galicia, and to my mind has more potential for aging than Albarino- though I am no expert.

In my experience it is a bit weightier texture wise, a bit ‘waxy’ even- though still fresh with often ripe fruit. It’s a grape worth getting to know, for sure!

Here’s a good summary from Jancis:

https://www.jancisrobinson.com/articles/glorious-godello

Another one I tried and loved was Telmo Rodriguez’s Gaba do Xil Godello. I’m sure @suiko or @Juan can suggest some other good producers. :+1:

It’s been years since I’ve had one but the Mara Martin Godello (yellow and gold striped label) is a really good example at a good price.

It’s a great grape that makes some fantastic wine IMHO.

Not tasted As Sortes but very much “best in class” (and price). Valdesil is vg as is Louro although I didn’t enjoy the last vintage stocked by TWS which I though was a bot flabby. They can be a bit too sweet, think “tinned peaches” when overripe, rather than fresh tropical fruits. I think I read that from 2017 Rafa has eliminated the Bolo range which was the entry level and that is now assimilated into Louro, which is now the entry level and sees some oak rather than all stainless steel.

I had the 2014 As Sortes about two years ago. It was a stunning wine, very well balanced. From what I read particularly the 2016 is supposed to be even better.