01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

The Society's Community

Which Margaux?

TWS has 3 Margaux’s priced between £26 and £23. Simple question… which should I buy?

To open straight away, no cellaring, a wine that appoaches the superlatives often attributed to bottles way beyond my budget.

I would go Angludet, it is not a second wine and I have had nice Bordeaux from the 2011 vintage.

The Angludet would be my immediate choice too (the extra age is tempting) - I was wondering however if the collective hivemind of TWS community might think otherwise?

I have no experience of the Society Margaux, but can highly recommend both the Angludet and the Baron de Brane. @szaki1974 is right that the Baron is a second wine but bear in mind that Brane Cantenac have a third wine as well (Margaux de Brane if I remember correctly) so the Baron doesn’t have all the dregs in it!

I have a lot of Angludet but have only drunk the 2008. And until last year i was distinctly unimpressed, but it seemed to finally open up, so I’m waiting on the others. No clue how much that is about the vintage but if it’s typical of the style then I’d avoid the 2011 for a while yet.

I think the Baron de Brane probably drinks better young than the Angludet.

I had a bottle of the 2011 Baron de Brane last October and very much enjoyed it!

I had a bottle of the 2011 a couple of years ago and also found it unexpectedly good. Not tried the Angludet though so can’t compare.

Yes I am still sitting on 09 Angludet, the latest JR tasting note suggested it will still closed down a bit. But ‘twas ever the way with critically acclaimed vintages, structured wines from them take a long time to come round, and a lot of french regions’ 2011s seem to have provided relatively early pleasure. I will be interested in the views of anyone who tries the 2011, certainly few vintages of this wine still retail anywhere under £30.