01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

What and why is NAP appearing as a drinking date on my stored wines?

I’ve been a member for over 20 years and have had wines in the Stevenage cellar from in bond offers for that long (not the same wines, I’m not that rich or patient). My reserves usually usefully tells me when I can drink the wine, even for mixed cases.
I’ve recently noticed an unknown abbreviation of “NAP” to “NAP” appearing on my drinking dates. How useless is that? Is it just a 2018 wine thing or have the Wine Society sacked the person who works the dates out? Sadly the wine notes for those cases haven’t been retained on the website either. Am I back to retaining the paper copies of in bond offers and hoping the dates remain accurate?

I think on mine I only see that on mixed cases. Is that the case for you or are you seeing it on single wines?

Mixed, but I’ve been ordering mixed cases for 20 years and they’ve always managed to give a date range for the box until now. My 2016 good value Rhone Villages have a date, as does 2018 Good Value Claret where as 2018 good value Rhone Villages has NAP as does 2018 Introduction to White Burgundy. I’ve no idea what NAP even stands for, although as it’s not a date it doesn’t matter what it is.

I have 3 mixed cases in EP, all with drinking dates, not ‘NAP’, so if it is something to do with mixed cases, it isn’t ALL mixed cases.

I have that showing on three mixed cases. However if I click on “Show more” the drink dates for each individual wine are shown.

1 Like

Odd. I’m sure Members 'services will know. I just checked mine, and all cases I mixed myself show NAP, but I have 4 or 5 pre mixed that also show it. Wonder what the criteria are.

If it’s only on mixed cases - and not the contained wines - my guess would be that it means “not applicable”

As @CCouzens says, if you click on the show more button, it breaks out the drinking dates by wine.

1 Like