01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

The Society's Community

Weekend Drinking Thread 23 - 25 October 2020

What, it’s 6pm and still no thread?

Just opened this, never knowingly tried the Aglianico grape before. Black cherry and some spice, need to see how it develops over the next couple of hours

19 Likes

Yay. We are starting the half-term weekend with this

Have a great weekend

#007 Now released:

18 Likes

Patiently waiting for this one.

36 Likes

Ooooh, how much longer? Hopefully not tomorrow!

1 Like

Been open for about 5 hours now. Will be interesting to see how it is tonight, or whether it’ll need another day.

6 Likes

So… envious…!

4 Likes

Yes, very exciting to see what that one is like.

Nothing as exciting here, but I have been looking forward to it as it is my first try of aligote. I have listened to the excellent IDTT podcast about it, and also watched the TWS YouTube with Sylvain during the work day today (shh - background noise!).

Friday night here is “every man for himself” night. The two teenage boys usually cook up a frozen pizza or two. The other half has a supermarket curry and I get to indulge my love of aubergine (no one else likes it) - tonight it is a stack of fried slices with smoked cheese slices and tomato with some greens and aged balsamic. Five minutes and happy days - goes with the wine well too!

23 Likes

It feels a little ‘After the Lord Mayor’s show’ following an '04 Mascarello, but to free up some space for the incoming Vina Real (I am weak), we opened this…

Fairly easy collateral damage for me - I’m not really a fan of the '08 - but it’s perfectly serviceable. Not sure whether it’ll be a good pairing to go with the Shakshuka that the other half is concocting right now, but we’ll see :smiley:

21 Likes

First bottle of my case bought EP. Tried this straight out of the wine fridge and to me it was at the perfect temperature.

Nice golden colour
N: melon, floral