01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Weekend drinking 17th-19th September

Dominum QP Rioja 2009. Tastes about 4 years old, not 12. Quite dark in colour. Tannins are slightly unresolved . It’s got that stewed fruit, dash of mulberry, followed by the leathery, nutmeggy oakiness. It’s fine, but I’ll bury my remaining bottles for a few years to see what they transform into

Happy weekend everyone!

23 Likes

After the Massolino 16 Captain Comedown has hit hard. It’s alright, but only just, anonymous, slightly soupy. I should pour it away and find something I do like, vita brevis and all that.

8 Likes

M&S bargain still drinking nicely.
Good value at the £11 I paid on clearance.

14 Likes

Having this in magnum with friends, it’s terrific

20 Likes

Two super wine running up to the weekend. First bottle of the 2017 Meursault, Olivier Leflaive. I’ve been resisting this for a few months. Absolutely super white Burgundy. The balance you’d expect from a Meursault and from the Olivier Leflaive stable. Very good to excellent. The 2002 Rudesheimer also super and matched a fruit desert beautifully, also just 8%.

23 Likes

I don’t normally drink on gym days, but it’s not been the best week for me so I needed some luxury.

Boy did this do the trick! Glistening golden in the glass. Big, oily and rich with such a voluptuous mouth feel it almost doesn’t need to taste of anything. Luckily for me it does also taste of something, caramel, pears, and pineapples with something spicy on the finish. Everything old vine Marsanne should be (of course it is! It’s Chave working with fruit from St Jo!). It really is a glass of luxury and decadence.

Cashing in on Past Patrick’s EP spend is also adding to the pleasure. Go Past Patrick!

30 Likes