01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Starting a wine collection

Discussed this subject with Robert and he thinks it may be a good subject for discussion.

I am retiring in a few years [early of course] and want to build up a stock of wine to enjoy in my dotage., maybe start to drink the wine in 3 years. I have no great knowledge of wine and in terms of laying wine away have no clue.

I have started my collection by adding a case of The Exhibition Crozes-Hermitage to reserves.

My questions would be:-

• When you start collecting wine how do you identify wine that’s suitable to lay away or put another way will be better in 3 years than it is now?

• Are there any specific grape varieties which improve more with age?

• As I will be unlikely to be spending any more than £20 per bottle, is this even worth doing?

• Or would I simply be better just putting the money I would spend in an account and buying wine when I retire?

I hope the above questions aren’t too daft. Thanks ahead for any responses.

Gordon

What a great set of questions! :smiley: I’m looking to start laying down wines myself, so I’ll be watching this with interest, but am not much help answering your questions.

I reckon @szaki1974 and @M1tch might have some ideas, and @Nowt_in_my_glass, @woodap and @Jonesy use our Vintage Cellar Plan so might be able to give their take on laying wines down. :smiley:

there was a similar style topic recently how many is enough but yours extends it a little

There are some on here far more knowledgeable than me but I will give it a try…

key aspect is only collect wines that you will want to drink in the future…no point putting away a case of Burgundy if you don’t like Pinot Noir!

Your Q1 and 2 are linked - not all wines age well and whilst you can have a good idea of what will have potential, the best way is to have tasted the wine young to see if it has the ability (structure and constituent parts making it suitable - tannins, acidity, flavours profile etc)