01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

The Society's Community

Starting a cellar with wines to lay down

Where would you start?

Personally lockdown has got me thinking about the future and maybe now is the time to invest in wine - mainly for drinking, but also with the potential for financial reward.

I’m thinking of investing in a wine fridge and maybe a case or two of something special.

I’m on a modest income (I’m a freelance musician/composer) and generally a new world drinker.

Where would you start if you were me? Or ignoring my preferences and income, where would you choose to start?

3 Likes

You may find some of the answers to your questions on this thread:

Also, to clarify, are you looking to purchase ageable wine for the sole purpose of making financial gains on the resale market?

1 Like

I’ve been thinking something similar so watching with interest. Never something that’s interested me before and I don’t have a suitable cellar but members reserves seems like a good idea (although i suspect storage fees quickly add up when you stock up?)

Perhaps take a look at the vintage cellar plans and see if one is right for you. If not, I know some if not all of the buyers or fine wine team would be able to chat you through options.

For making money, worth noting this is against the rules of TWS but other merchants will be able to help.

6 Likes

I started by:

1. Buying a wine I knew I liked before it was old enough to drink
  2. Buying some more premium wines from a winery I knew I liked the entry level wines of
  3. Buying some more premium wines from a region I knew I liked
  4. Getting drunk and bought some EP Bordeaux

WARNING: Buying EP (especially through TWS where you get the excitement of the “will I get it or not!”) becomes addictive. It’s great fun, but can also leave you bitter about not getting that damned 2016 Burlotto Cannubi! (What?!?).

11 Likes