01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Rhone - where to start

With the Rhone 2016 en primeur offer going strong, I can see how intimidating the discussion on Rhone wines could seem to those new to the region or infact to “fine” wine. I have been there 3-4 years ago and admittedly still on a learning curve. I thought it was a good idea to start a thread for the many.

You will have to bear with me, as I am not an expert, but will try and do my best to start up an introduction to the region, which hopefully be strengthened by others’ responses to my ramblings.

Why the Rhone? This region has grown on me in the last couple of years with its wonderful crowd pleasing wines and this is the French region where there is considerable value to be had for your money. Also there is a Rhone 2016 offer (NOT en primeur) currently out that came through the post recently.

Some unsolicited advise as to how to get to know the region:

1. Read about the geograpical diversity the North / South divide. For the reds it means pure Syrah reds in the North and Grenache dominated reds in the South.

2. Taste, taste , taste. Try and take any opportunity to taste the wines, if it is a TWS or other merchant organised thematic tasting or simply going for the enomatic machines at your local wine merchant (or those open bottles at your local Majestic). This is definitely the best way to broaden your understanding of the wines and find out what you like and what you dislike.

3. Understand the grapes… REDS - syrah for spice, grenache for weight and mourvedre for freshness WHITES - viognier for fragrance, marsanne for opulence and roussanne for fine herby notes and many other…

4. Don’t forget about the whites, they are great!

My introduction to the Rhone 6 bottle mixed case from wines that are currently available from TWS would be the following: