01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

The Society's Community

Pinot Noir Recommendations

Hello,

This is my first post on here, so - hi all!

I am relatively new to the world of wine and am looking for recommendations in a particular style of Pinot Noir - rich, savoury, earthy, mossy, forest floor, gamey, meaty.

My limited research/understanding seems to point towards OLDER bottles…age bringing out some of these characteristics. Do you agree?

I bought a bottle of Louis Jadot Savigny Les Beaune 1er Cru La Dominode, 2010 from TWS a while ago, and of all the pinots in the order that was the one that seemed to be the style I like.

It was quite pricey (for me) at about £32 but I would be happy to pay that again (£25-35) if I knew I was going to get the same kind of flavours/experience.

Most grateful for any tips/recommendations people have on cheaper bottles of Pinot that deliver these kinds of characteristics!

Thanks so much!!!

Anthony

5 Likes

Older bottles.

To use the “wine tasting” jargon, the flavours you’ve described are all “Tertiary”. These are the flavours that develop in the bottle over time. How old depends on the area and wine making styles involved, but 5 years on a Borgogne Rouge, 10 on a 1er Cru and longer on a Grand Cru is about right.

Rather than cheaper Pinot Noir advice (which I can’t really give!), I tend to look for other grapes with similar characteristics. Meatier Gamey’s from Beaujolais Crus such as Morgon and Moulin a Vent, Xinomavro (Markovitis 2012 firsts your critera/flavour profile really well) and some of the classic northern italian reds fit the bill.

7 Likes

the domain rollin is a bit cheaper …ok £3! and should with that age fit your bill

I really like their style

I have found that cheaper Pinot is very fruit driven and doesn’t always deliver the flavours you describe…hopefully someone on the community can help you further !