01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

The Society's Community

Mas De Daumas Gassac

I have been buying this wine on and off EP for a few years.
I withdrew a 6 bottle case of the 2010 from TWS storage.

My mate who’s in the wine business is a bit sniffy about this wine but I really like it - it suits my taste very well. I think it’s down unusual assemblage, that in this vintage is:

– 70% Cabernet Sauvignon.
– 6.2% Cabernet Franc.
– 5.3% Merlot.
– 3.6% Pinot noir.
– 3.2% Tannat.
– 2% Malbec.
– 9.7% rare grape varieties : Nebbiolo, Barbera, Dolcetto, Armigne, Arenie, Bastardo, Saperavie, Tchkaveri, Montepulciano, Areni Noir, Tchekavesi, Souzon, Brancalleo, Petit Verdot, Carmenere, Abouriou and Plavac Mali.

I’ve never even heard of some of these grapes. Perhaps though this is how winemaking once was before mono-viticulture took over.

It’s not cheap and I’m sure there’s better value elsewhere.
Anyone else a fan?

3 Likes
1 Like

I take it you’re a fan then :+1:t4:
Yes I too normally wait 10 years from a good vintage of any red.

1 Like

Two wines from Gassac’s neighbours Mas Laval have showed up in the list:

I strongly recommend trying Les Pampres. It’s excellent value for money, by any measure. I haven’t tried the Cinsault before, but looks interesting.

Laval is one of the three properties worth visiting if you happen to be around Aniane (the others being Grange du Peres - which don’t really take visitors - and Gassac - which has a fabulous tasting room and even cottages to rent spread around the property).

More info here:

ps: Mas de L’Ecriture (from the nearby Terraces area) also produced consistently good wines, but I haven’t been able to find it anywhere in the last 5-6 years - neither here nor at the Nicolas or Lavinia shops around Paris).

7 Likes