01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Japanese wine

Hi all

Been a bit quiet recently as we’re on the move around Japan. Hope everyone is well!

So far, aside from a very drinkable white from Hokkaido, this is the only wine we’ve tried

While in this case I feel akin to the Englishman who heads for the nearest McDonalds, it did go well with the local Kobe beef (which itself is wonderful)

Does anyone know much about Japanese wine and what to look out for? I’m all for trying a local product if I have the chance. So far it’s been all beer and sake!

Drink Sho-chu,

National spirit with massive local variations, basically distilled from whatever is around. Quality also varies massively so watch out!

Looks great, and you could do a lot worse than beer and sake I’m sure. I’ve no personal experience with Japanese wine but Jamie Goode has written up several wineries, mostly from Nagano. If you have a few mins you could scan these:

http://www.wineanorak.com/wineblog/category/japan

Enjoy!

I have no experience of Japanese wine, but Andrew Jefford had written this lovely article about the Koshu grape which, apparently, is native to Japan. Or at least they haven’t managed to prove otherwise yet:

I’m sure you’ll come across a lot of Koshu - and I’m not sure how to tell which one is good and which one isn’t; but in the 2019 DWWA one won the Platinum award, from Suntory wines (in case you come across it). Here are the notes:

http://awards.decanter.com/DWWA/2019/Wine/577938?name=Suntory-Tomi%20No%20Oka%20Koshu-2017

Have fun! :grin: :clinking_glasses:

Koshu is a nice grape variety, delicate and slightly floral, good with all the amazing Japanese seafood. A little expensive for me to drink in the UK. The Grace Winery Koshu is good:
https://www.wine-searcher.com/find/grace+koshu+yamanashi+japan