Continuing the discussion from The Society's Community "How To" Guides:
Item 10. in the Terms of Service that all members agree to upon registration, states:
… If you wish to terminate this Agreement or your Society Community account (if you have one), you may simply discontinue using the Website.
The discussion forum nature of the Website is such that individual posts are integral building blocks of public conversations, and removing posts can negatively affect the value of the site and the contributions of other members. For this reason, the content you post to the Website will remain on the site and will not be deleted except where individual posts are deemed to be inappropriate, in which case these posts can be dealt with on their individual merits. In certain circumstances it is possible to ‘anonymize’ the contributions of an individual member who wishes to leave the community, but The Wine Society does not warrant that all references to the user, their chosen username, and information and details they chose to provide, can be fully anonymized or removed.
Here are the steps to take should you decide that you wish to leave the community and stop receiving any communications. This will stop any notifications or messages, but you will continue to ‘own’ the username you created so no-one else could use this and potentially confuse or mislead other members
- Go to your preferences
- Click on ‘Email’
- Untick all boxes under Email settings (see below)
- Untick the Activity Summary email
ANONYMISING YOUR ACCOUNT
If there is a reason to remove yourself completely from the site, then you should raise your request with an Administrator. These cases will be dealt with individually.
Admins can ‘Anonymise’ the content you have posted so that comments will remain on the site, but the username they are linked to will be changed so this will not be attributable to you. We cannot guarantee that personal details you might have chosen to include in individual replies can be changed. You will need to edit those messages individually if you believe there is an issue.
The reason we cannot simply ‘delete’ content is that every conversation is built up of each member’s participation, like a tower of Jenga blocks. Whilst one or two might be possible to remove safely, the structure of the building relies on the complex relationship between all those individual comments. Removing them en-masse would potentially make most of the conversations you took part in with other members make no sense. This is not fair on all other ongoing participants in the community.
For example, if you started a popular conversation thread, and then 20 other members replied to you and to each other, that entire thread, and all other member’s contributions, would be affected if the original topic were to be deleted.
To notify us of your request, please write to us. You can always contact us, or escalate any matters, via Member Services