Continuing the discussion from The Society's Community "How To" Guides:
At the bottom of your posts, and in fact any post that you have the right to edit, you will see a small pencil icon:
Click on this and you enter edit mode and can make any changes to your post. Just type away and when finished click on “Save edit” in the bottom left corner and your post is changed.
If for some reason you are unhappy with your edit you may hit cancel and you will be presented with the following choice.
If you hit “Yes, abandon” edit mode is closed without any changes, while “No, keep” takes you back to edit mode.
If you edit a post some time after posting the system will keep an audit trail of your edits free for all to see what has been deleted and what has been newly input. To look at this you only have to click on the pencil icon at the top right of the post. The little counter gives you the number of edits.