01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Home wine storage dilemma

Hi all,

I currently have a 32 bottle wine fridge at home, which is pretty much full bar a few spaces, I have 36 bottles in my reserves from EP (I know I know, I am only starting out!), coupled with another 78 inbound from other EP offers - some coming in this month.

Now, my dilemma is, do I buy an additional wine fridge at home so I have enough space to have a mix of wines at home or do I keep them all in my reserves here and withdraw them as and when (with a small lead time).

I know that I can do partial case withdrawals - needs to be in cases of 12 but can be made up from 4 different wines. My wine fridge at home has my first EP case of 2013 Rhone wines, coupled with some other single bottles of wine I have bought over the years.

Was thinking about perhaps buying another smaller wine fridge and have 1 fridge for single bottles and perhaps have the current fridge to hold a selection of multiple bottles - example being say 3 x 2015 Chateau Batailley with the rest in my reserves for a later date. I do also have a few mixed cases which I think I have to withdraw as one which might fill up the fridge quite quickly.

Worth noting that I only use the fridge for storage and its set at 12c, the wine is then removed and either chilled or left to come up to temp when its been selected to be served etc.

Basically just wondering if I should:

• Keep the 1 fridge and withdraw from my reserves in cases of 12/mixed case when there is space
  • Buy another small fridge and split single bottles and part straight cases and take more out my reserves
  • Buy a big fridge and withdraw more wine from my reserves so I have more of a selection at home

0 voters

Wine cupboards
Hello! :) Introduce yourself