Grower Champagne

I am a complete novice in grower Champagne. I read an interesting thread on price increases and an earlier thread (dry jan reading!) where even the TWA journalist chimes in.

I’d be keen on trying the odd bottle, just to know if it’s my thing or not and whether I should take an interest. What are the various sample points one needs to try before deciding they do/don’t like them?

There is a lot of lamentation on rising prices, particularly Ulysse Collin which was available on vinissimus for £60 but is now £472

It seems as if the sector is nascent and consistency & price discovery in some of the newer growers is yet to be determined.

Nearly all of these producers were unknown to me prior to reading. Does anyone have any tips, buying recommendations?

Aube

This region seems to be of interest. Centred on the Medieval city of Troyes, and well on the way to Burgundy, the Aube is a completely autonomous area, its Champagnes shaped by the distinctive clay limestone soils and , of course by the warmer microclimate.

Stratospheric Brands or Going Stratospheric (boat has sailed)

Selosse £600

Prevost £300

Bouchard £400

Ulysse Collin - Used to be ~ £60 say at Vinissimus has gone a bit stratospheric £472

Flagged as interesting

Egly Ouriet £53

George Remy £60

La Borderie from £48

Guillaume Sergent £50

Gerbais at TWS at £34

Charles Heidsieck Reserve at TWS at £46

Vilmart (used to be at TWS) available at Waitrose for £48

Bruno Paillard at £45

Also listed

Laherte
Larmandier-Bernier
Diebolt Valois
Hebrart
Dehu
Gonet
Chartogne-Taillet
Dehours
Sergent
Courtin

TWS

Champagne Jeaunaux-Robin Talus-Saint-Prix Brut NV
Pierre Paillard

5 Likes

This is excellent if you haven’t tried.