01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Gevrey Chambertin 1er Cru 2010

I have a bottle of this wine in my collection, thanks to a generous gift from a family member a few years ago

I’m not a big expert on Burgundy styles and ageing potential. I was thinking of drinking this over Christmas, but as I recently added my paltry collection to CellarTracker to share in the community, I noticed that it has a drinking window that apparently does not start until 2020. Would it be wrong to open it?

I’ve had a little look around, and consensus seems to suggest that it might be too early. BBR’s ‘What to drink in 2017’ page on Red Burgundy says:

‘The wines of 2009, and 2010, offer excellent drinking at more everyday levels; those higher up the scale, for high days and holidays, have more to offer and warrant further cellarage.’

Sarah Marsh wrote in Decanter:

‘A top premier cru would repay a good 10 years’ patience.’

I’m sure it would be delicious this Christmas, but probably not quite at its peak!

Jancis Robinson suggests drinking 2012-2020 so I would agree with Bob’s comments though 10 years may be the limit for peak drinking.

Thanks @Amblechops - is that a specific recommendation for this wine or for Gevrey in general?

Thanks @Bargainbob but I think that a blanket “10 years cellaring” advice is of limited value because each producer is so different, so it could be misleading for an individual wine.

In that case we are probably in a decent window, being in the latter half of the window suggested by Jancis - plus my storage conditions aren’t ideal, so waiting is always a gamble anyway.

Hmm, this is looking more likely

It may also depend on how you like your burgundy. If Bright and fruity then earlier is better. if you hanker after undergrowth and decayed notes then later.