01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

The Society's Community

For the discussion of Rioja

Over on the new members thread the discussion drifted onto Rioja.
A separate thread seems a better idea.
I’m really no expert on this region but did visit in 2018, which gave an insight.
Obviously much discussion has been about the modern v traditional approach of various producers.
So how do we define this and which do you like?

4 Likes

It’s certainly a very beautiful rugged region.

I’ve always liked Rioja, long before we knew about the grapes involved, but I don’t buy a lot of it* - except in pubs and chain restaurants (remember them?) with poor wine lists. Rioja is the only wine likely to be bottled by the winery, all the rest for all their fancy invented names are bulk shipped - and I try to avoid those.

I have touted Tempranillo (the main red grape of Rioja)as the next fashionable red wine, and have noted increasing plantings in and very enjoyable wines from the new world.

*mainly because give preference to others.

2 Likes

I am waiting with baited breath for the wise to chip in. I have no Rioja in my stash and should correct this.

I adored the Tondonia I have tried but often find some of the modern iterations too sweet and oaky. I have found this with the CVNE wines I have tried but I understand that this is seen as a more traditional producer. Or is it certain cuvee which are modern and others more trad? Muga I have also had mixed experiences with.

I am reluctant to spend too much on wines in a region I do not understand but need to get started somewhere.

1 Like

I love Rioja, so I’ll bite. (And, as an aside, theres a lovely thread on Wineberserkers where someone has gone to the huge effort of collating every producer in Barolo into modern/traditional/in-between. It took several years, so patience, please :slight_smile: ).