01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

First case

Hello,

I was wondering about an introduction vs suggestions thread, and it seemed that it would be easiest to combine the two, and that this would be the best place to post…so here goes.

Long term oenophile, medium term lurker and brand new member putting together a first case. I am not an expert, but i suppose i am not a novice either. I probably taste between 300-500 wines a year; mostly at tastings, but i also buy regularly. I am an open minded hobbyist who has sought out enough niche regions and varietals to know that is not the sure fire way to come across something noteworthy, but in general i prioritise experience of hedonism.

I have enjoyed every style of wine, but to begin with i am looking for a mixture of curios and ws exemplars to familiarise my self with the range and what the site does well. I have memberships elsewhere, and a very good relationship with two local Indies who both excel at more esoteric options, but the range here dwarfs what others can match.

In terms of a ball park price, i am looking at £10-15 midweek, £20-25 weekend, and £50ish for a special treat wine although i could be tempted to stretch for a world beater. Of course if there is a less expensive super star i am more than happy to experiment. I have a modest storage unit, but most of my wine is stashed with a view to drinking within 6 months.

For my case i am looking for a mix. I have a few in my case, and a few i searched for and didn’t shortlist. I am probably getting more towards sub £20 options to begin with, but i am open minded. Any grape, any country, any style. What would you recommend?

That’s a heck of a broad brush question. Any clues as to preferred grapes, styles, regions?

South Africa possibly the star of the moment.
White choice is easy either or

Or

Red too much choice. The 2015 vintage being feted so how about this one (still a tad young)

And a community favourite

Personal favourite white