01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Exhibition Hermitage Rouge 2014

I saw that @Freddy picked this as his staff choice this month, and I’ve tentatively added one to the basket for my next order. I say tentatively, because at £39 it’s a fair chunk more than I usually spend on a bottle, so I’m weighing it up before I take the plunge. I have no previous experience with red Hermitage, but know enough to expect that this is likely to be pretty special. Is anyone else likely to be getting some? Has anyone else tried it yet?

It’s in the enomatics this week. I decided that it was ‘good but not that good’. It doesn’t have the extra depth and persistence that I expect if I go up to a Hermitage. Not as outstanding as the Exhibition Hermitage Blanc.

You’ll have to change your name to Blow-The-Budget Bob :laughing:

I splashed out on this last month for my first Hermitage experience. I knew it’d be way too young but that was in itself a fascinating exercise, trying something top-notch before it’s truly hit its stride.

I made a slightly waffley tasting note over the course of two days, but the short version is that I found it to be gorgeously complex, tannic as hell and - hard to put into words - tightly packed together, like it really was waiting to gently ease into its best. I’d love to be able to put half a dozen bottles away for about ten years, but there’s no way I’d be able to justify that kind of outlay.

But the pinch of salt is that it was my first go of this appellation, so I don’t know how it compares to others.

Likewise; I picked up two bottles and yes as with @Bargainbob it is right at the top end of my price range. I I’ve only a few times exceeded £40 for a bottle.

It sounds like it was still pretty closed down, @Herbster. I figure I’ll open the first bottle in 3-4 years. I used to think gardening required patience…

Based on the 2010… it is worth skipping 3 other bottles to justify the outlay. Healthier, too.