01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Down Memory Lane

J’adore le Piat D’Or. This was one of the most common TV advertising slogans around 1974-5. Did anyone ever try it?

Some must, because it was popular for a while, but not me.

The full slogan said the French adore le Piat D’Or which was ‘economical with the actualité’ as Piat d’Or was not available in France.

There’s an interesting past here https://venitism.wordpress.com/2017/10/14/le-piat-dor/ about how Piat d’Or was designed.

’ We wanted a sweet, easy-drinking red wine without any of the punishment of tannin which characterised many French wines at the time. We chose an unorthodox method to achieve that aim. Our product ‘template’ was to use the Liebfraumilch Blue Nun liquid and colour it red using proprietary food colouring.

That is quite horrific

If you are a student, you’ll try anything. Fortunately, I graduated just before this stuff. Don Cortez Spanish Burgundy (sic) was the equivalent affront to the senses of my day.

Ah… Piat D’or. Yes I was in my teens then (living near Stevenage actually) and Hertfordshire still had some genuinely original pubs and beers - so no reason to drink anything else. Wine was for special occasions - Liebfraumilch the peak in sophistication.

Red Piat d’Or I vaguely remember as being a Beaujolais style wine, bland, and to be honest rather expensive. Nothing wrong with it, but no reason to drink it.

for clarity - that was the design template to show the winemakers what was required…not the product for purchase!

@peterm thanks for the link… there was an article on it a few years ago…i’m guessing 2014 when it was 40 years old…great brand and marketing story

I think so! It was one of the biggest brands of its day so most of us then would have had a glass or two at a party sometime. From memory it was fairly harmless whereas Stowells Hirondelle, a Spanish wine regardless of the French name, I recall as being rough, if not very rough.