01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Cork Taint

Regular reader but my first post. I was compelled to do this as I have just come across my first instance of cork taint. Reading statistics it is roughly 2-3% of all wines that suffer from this. That seems like an awful lot and as I have been drinking wine for many years and this is my first experience I just wondered have I been lucky or does anyone else come across this more regularly.

They tend to be like buses. None for ages then two or three in swift succession so brace yourself!

Last time it happened to us was a case of TWS Valpolicella Ripasso, three of which were tainted. So of course TWS credited our account each time.

It used to be higher.

But cork taint is a funny thing, some people don’t recognise it.

Once you are aware of it then you will find more. I reckon some of the wines you’ve had before have been corked, maybe at a low level where it suppresses fruit flavours, and you decided that you didn’t like that wine. If you tasted the same wine now then you would probably recognise it as tainted

I’ve only had one badly corked wine from the w/s. I remember how common it was twenty years ago. I actually got my partner and a couple of friends to try it out to illustrate what badly corked wine is like.

I encounter other faults* more than cork taint to be honest. I’m not sure i’d recognise it every time.

*although rarely if ever from society wines.

I suspect it is 2-3% of wines with real corks, rather than all wines. But there are now many wines closed with screwcaps, Diam-type corks and plastic. That, and improved corks, led to a marked overall reduction of cork-taint.