01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Coping with the weather?

How are you and your wines coping with this weather? Hope everyone’s okay and managing through these scorching temperatures!

I got myself a Sauternes chilling in the fridge for later on in the evening, hopefully this will help a bit… :weary: :wine_glass: :thermometer:

As a typical wine beginner, I have recently bought a 9 wine rack that’s sitting in my kitchen right next to my oven… BIG mistake obviously, I wish I had done my WSET course prior to buying the wine rack… And YES, I need to move it to somewhere else but there’s literally no more space at my house at the moment :woman_facepalming: next home: revise furniture priorities. :laughing:

11 Likes

Had a quick look a moment ago. Most of my wine at home is in a cabinet or fridge, but the rest is in our integrated garage, which sees the afternoon sun.

Top reading is near the ceiling, bottom reading near the floor. Quite a difference there. Most of it is at floor level, but I might scoop up the boxes at mid level and stuff them behind the kick plates in the kitchen for a couple of days

5 Likes

Cellar is staying about 19/20°C which is ok. The wine likely to be a little cooler than the air temp.

We’ve turned the house into a cave - blinds and curtains closed, doors closed etc. if we stay out of the kitchen it’s fine!

6 Likes

We are trying to follow the advice re closed curtains and windows and drinking plenty of (alcohol free) fluids! Currently 32C outside, and 24C in the pantry we keep our wine in. It is dark and relatively cool there in comparison. We don’t particularly worry about the wine temperature. The pantry temperature gradient throughout the year is not steep and is gradual when it goes up and down.

4 Likes