01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Christmas Dinner & Wine Society Christmas Party Dozen

christmas

Hi - I’m new to the Wine Society. Although I’ve drunk a fair bit :wink: I would say that I am a wine novice.

I have just received the Christmas Party Dozen, which due to variety I thought would be good to get me started.

My question is which of these wines would go well with a traditional turkey Christmas dinner? The delicate meat of the turkey and robust flavours of the accompaniments.

The link to the wine box is https://www.thewinesociety.com/shop/ProductDetail.aspx?pd=XC1940

The list of wines is as follows:

• Victory Hotel Australian Chardonnay-Semillon 2018
  • Château Tour La Vérité, Bordeaux 2016
  • Lascar Classic Central Valley Chardonnay 2018
  • Lascar Classic Carmenère 2018
  • Picpoul de Pinet, Domaine Félines-Jourdan 2018
  • Saint-Chinian, Domaine Raynier 2018
  • Baccolo Appassimento Rosso Veneto 2017
  • Vittoria Pinot Grigio IGT Venezie 2018
  • Val de Loire Sauvignon Blanc, Famille Bougrier 2018
  • Côtes-du-Rhône, Domaine Jaume 2017
  • A Fistful of Schist Reserve Chenin Blanc, Swartland 2019
  • Casa La Rad Solarce, Rioja 2017

Many thanks for your help/assistance. If people could also add why they would pair a certain bottle, then that would be an extra addition to my knowledge which would be fantastic.

Thanks again

Welcome to The Society & the community, and delighted to see that you presumably support the greatest ever football team :grinning:

Back on topic, I wouldn’t claim to be an expert and there are plenty on here with much more knowledge & experience but here’s my two penneth…

White - I would think you need something with a bit of body here to cope with the variety of flavours on a Christmas dinner plate so I’m drawn toward the Lascar Chardonnay from those I think.