01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

The Society's Community

Cardboard boxes

Hallo,

I’m pretty new to the Community - have read a bit over the last month or so and did infact post in the spiral cellar chat of a couple of weeks ago, but didn’t say hello then.

So, hallo.

I’m no wine expert, but know what I like when I drink it. I travel a bit for work and pleasure, always bringing back a few bottles, usually in foam board boxes I’ve made specially to put into checked luggage when flying. Never had a breakage in over 10 years, and happily still opening some nice bottles from South Africa bought when working there in 2008, (Boekenhoutskloof 2005 SB & Syrah especially: what a joy) plus from Morocco, Italy, the US & more recently Austria.

But for now I just wanted to see what others thought about the Society’s boxes. Not sure if this has been discussed before, but I think they are fab: strong, tough, etc, so much so that it pains me to fold them up with the recycling. I’ve said as much when placing an order over the phone, and even emailed someone at the Society (not sure who) a year or two back. No response.

Surely there’s some way of recycling them through the Society’s van? OK, maybe not on its first drop of the day when full, but as the day progresses . . . . why not ?

No doubt there are many reasons why this is not that easy, but surely it’s not a bad idea? How many boxes leave Stevenage each week that could do so again another time?

Welcome to the community, @CRW6! :grinning:

I always give my empty boxes to the Society’s van driver when I have a delivery - and he always happily takes them. I assume they end up back in Stevenage, though never really thought to ask him… :thinking:

It’s worth asking the WS driver when you next have a delivery, perhaps?

If you are going to move as we still hope to ! They find a place stacked ready in the garage, amazingly the old Tesco s Direct from some years back were even better.