01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Burgundy or Mâconnais?

I’ve been sipping through countless bottles of wine for over 45 years and of course have seen many changes in this marvellous world we all swim around in (metaphorically speaking of course). One of the ‘changes’ that I do not accept very lightly is the fact that, since white Burgundy has become so expensive, the wines of Maconnais are suddenly being referred to in a seemingly commonplace way as ‘Burgundy’.
Now I’ve been to both many times and they are very different and I consider this ‘appropriation’ as nothing more than deceitful.
Back in the day Burgundy was very sniffy about its neighbouring wine region. Now, as if by magic, it has been absorbed into the fold.
So come on TWS, and its illustrious buyers, start calling a spade a spade. It’s Maconnais!!

Well, I don’t know what the fuss is about, given that Beaujolais is also part of Burgundy

ducks and runs for cover

9 Likes

I remember when East Burgundy was called Jura.

4 Likes

…and of course the Northern enclave of Burgundy known as Chablis?

2 Likes

And Pouilly Fume is made in the French Region Bourgogne Franche Comte :smiley:

4 Likes

I heard that growers in Sussex and Kent were invited to join the Bourgogne Transmanche Coop, but negotiations are on hold due to Brexit.

7 Likes

Fact is that - like it or not - there’s a lot more to Burgundy than Côte d’Or.

9 Likes

I’ve known Macon to be classed as a sub-region of Burgundy for at least 25 years (and expect it is much longer), so I don’t think anything’s really changed recently, in terms of how it is described. Perhaps it is just more prominent as it’s one of the few white wines from the region where you can still find bottles at a vaguely sensible price?

5 Likes

Is it a realistic proposition to suggest that anyone is going to voluntarily stop using the term ‘Burgundy’ in association with their wines, when the simple use of the name itself guarantees a higher price?