01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Barolo vs Barbaresco - a Nebbiolo thread

Hi Inbar. I enjoyed the Barolo, with some qualifications. I’ve never tried one before so don’t know what they are meant to be like, am afflicted with bad hayfever and I felt that it was a little too warm. Anyway, here goes. Decanted for about an hour. Colour: light; brick red; orange at rim (strange colours for a young wine?). Nose: Red cherries; floral (violets); bit of spice. Taste: very little, probably due to hayfever. Dry with pronounced tannins and acidity, but light to medium bodied. Overall, I enjoyed it, but the sensations of tannin and acidity trumped the flavours, certainly with repect to taste (probably me, not the wine). Probably worth the £13 or so at reduced price, but full price, I doubt it. Drank it with an Anna Del Conte ‘polpette’ recipe. I must make a point of trying a ‘proper’ Barolo when my senses are a little sharper; I suspect they are intriguing… Will try the remainder tomorrow, but I suspect it won’t have improved.

Weekend Drinking Thread [20 April 18]

Thanks for taking the time to report back, @JonM1978! :+1:
I’m not a Barolo fan either. Have tried a few in the past, but not enough to develop a deeper appreciation and knowledge. Still, I look forward to giving this one a go (would be interesting to compare with your notes!) - and as you say, at least it was not the full price, so if it’s not up to much it won’t be a great loss.
Hope you get over your hayfever soon! My other half is also suffering with it at the moment, so you got my sympathy… :sneezing_face:

Thanks Inbar, some chocolate ice cream is helping! :wink:

That is typical for Barolo (and more broadly Nebbiolo) even relatively young. So is the rest of your description, save for probably the lack of intensity of flavour that I read from your note. Also not sure what the vintage was, but that could have also influenced the quality.