01438 741177         thewinesociety.com

Alsace - where to start?

discovery

So as mentioned on numerous other threads, although not exactly new to wine, I’m a bit of a newbie when it comes to understanding the different regions, their specialties and the peculiarities of terroir that express in the wine.

So, I’ve bitten the bullet and bought these two cases to to some Alsatian #discovery, which arrived today:

Does anyone have any suggestions as to where to start? The whites are all different grapes so I suppose we just start anywhere and work our way through, noting which we like and which we don’t really.

For the reds, should we tackle those in any specific order?

Alphabetical order? :wink:

With the whites, started with the driest and head to the richer end.
With the reds, why not just blind taste?

Ok, sound like a plan. However, I’m not much further forward as I don’t know what order that implies!

Maybe its:

Pinot Blanc
Sylvaner
Guwurtztraminer
Muscat
Riesling
Pinot Gris

?

That’s quite an expensive option.

Wouldn’t it be great if we could order a mixed case of small blind samples and then choose what we wanted to buy more of on that basis?

There is someone doing that but not related to TWS as far as I know

Actually, not exactly the same thing as they are not blind samples. But similar I guess.

(I’m not related to the above website except that the founder worked at the same place as me once, and I found out about them from the ex-employee association)